About Us

Iowa Bridge & Culvert, LC is premier contractor providing quality construction and innovative solutions across the Midwest. With offices in Iowa, Arkansas and Texas, we undertake projects of all sizes in Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Texas, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma and Louisiana. 

Iowa Bridge & Culvert, LC traces its lineage back to 1946 when Allan L. Hanson and Andy Schmidt founded the Schmidt & Hanson Construction Company. In 1948, Schmidt and Hanson dissolved due to Mr. Schmidt's health; the Hanson Construction Company was formed out in 1949 as a result. Mr. Hanson died unexpectedly at the end of 1965, so his wife and two sons, aged 22 and 23, took over management and incorporated in 1966. The officers of this new corporation were: Mrs. A. L. Hanson, President; Don L. Hanson, Vice President; and Ken L. Hanson, Secretary and Treasurer. Don and Ken took over all the bidding and field operations while Mrs. Hanson continued to manage the office as she had done for many years. In 1980 the Hanson Construction company changed their name to Iowa Bridge & Culvert, a name under which we still operate today. IBC purchased Schmidt Construction in 2010. 

Hanson Construction/IBC owned and operated several ready-mix plants around Southeastern Iowa from 1954 until the early 1990's. Hanson Construction/IBC started working outside of Iowa's borders in 1974, and expanded our operation to Texas in 1980. We have been completing projects in Texas and the surrounding states under the names of Hanson Construction, Plano Bridge & Culvert, and Iowa Bridge & Culvert.

Our current officers are:

  • Curt Hanson               President

  • Burge Hammond         Vice-President

  • Brian Uitermarkt         Vice-President
Our Management Team also includes:

  • Doug Bradley (Iowa)                 Project Manager/Estimator

  • Ryan Uitermarkt (Iowa)             Project Manager/Estimator

  • Rich Pierson (Iowa)                   Project Manager/Estimator

  • Chris Kumnick (Texas)              Project Manager/Estimator

  • Britni Hammond                        Controller

  • Nate Riordan (Iowa)                   Benefits Administrator/Concrete Accessories 

  • Mary Nebel (Iowa)                      Payroll Administrator

  • Ron Sojka (Iowa)                        Equipment Manager

  • John Anderson                           Safety Director/Special Projects

  • Dave Price (Iowa)                        Safety Manager